Arcane Guilds

  Chapter 2: Daily Life
Time in Feyworld

          The year in Feyworld is 364 days long, broken up into thirteen, 28 day lunar cycles. Each season is 91 days long (3 months, 7 days). Each day is further divided into 24 hours, each hour into 60 minutes and each minute into 60 seconds, but these latter divisions are typically only used by Practitioners, as they are the only ones with the means or necessity to determine precise time.

The Davidian Calendar
          In the Koramian calendar, each month is divided into four weeks of seven days apiece, and each day has its own, traditional name, as shown in the table to the right.
          Domnach is considered to be a holy day to the Koramian religion, and is the day in which most regular church services are held, kings are coronated, priests ordained, and marriages conducted. Furthermore, Koramians use the Davidian calendar for naming their months, established by St. David Gaelsman the Wodesman of Vortumnus. For the month naming conventions of the Davidian Calendar, see the combined table at the end of this section.

Days of the Week (Davidian Calendar)
1. Luanday
2. Mirtday
3. Ciadain
4. Ardainday
5. Anday
6. Satharn
7. Domnach

The Hieronymide Calendar
          The Imperial calendar is a bit more complex. Only three days of each month are named, and all other days are listed by how far they are from one of these days. The Calends is the first day of any given month, the Nones is the fifth day and the Ides is the fifteenth day. It is also important to note here that when the Imperials count days they include both the start and end day of the time span in question. Thus, the 3rd of Folloch in Koramia would be the 4th day after the Calends of Tertilis to an Imperial. To contribute to the confusion in the Imperial dating system, there is no traditional convention as to which of the three days one counts from. Thus, the 4th day after the Calends of Tertilis is also the 2nd day before the Nones of Tertilis. It is also acceptable to merely list how many days into the month an event takes place, a convention used by those who must often write out dates such as bureaucrats and priests. Thus, the 3rd day after the Ides of Quinctilis can also be listed as the 18th of Quinctilis. The Imperial calendar, called the Hieronymide Calendar, is based on the work of Hieronymous of House Sanctus and, thus, has different names for the months as well as a different New Year's Day. Whereas the new year begins on the 1st of Folloch (the first day of Spring) for the Koramians, the Hieronymide calendar begins on the 2nd day after the Nones of Ditilis (the 6th day of the month and the Winter solstice). Though the Davidian calendar has remained relatively unchanged since its creation, various Emperors have altered the Hieronymide calendar, typically by naming a month after themselves.

Month Names in the Calendars of Feyworld
Davidian Hieronymide Season
Folloch Tertilis Spring
Giblean Quartilis Spring
Beltain Quinctilis Spring
Betasha Sextilis Summer
Mudens Septilis Summer
Lunasa Octavius Summer
Sheldsmet Novembris Summer
Damhar Decembris Autumn
Sultain Augustilis Autumn
Samhain Duodecilis Autumn
Nollaig Tertidecembris or Ditilis* Winter
Eanaire Claudris Winter
Gerran Duobris Winter
*The Imperial calendar ends on the Nones of Ditilis

          Religious and secular holidays are extremely important to the people of Feyworld, though each holiday itself is of varying importance, depending on the event celebrated or the deity honored. Refer to the table below for a listing of the holidays celebrated by the Koramian and Imperial peoples. Months are listed as according to the Davidian calendar. Those holidays specifically celebrated in Koramia are listed with a parenthetical K, and religious holidays note the deity worshipped on that day.

Spring Holidays

Folloch 15 Spring Equinox
Start of the Marageddon (the Healing) (Abaris)
the Planting (Podalirius)
  Beltain 7 Day of the Patron (Thalia)
Folloch 21 The Beckoning (Selene)   Beltain 22 King William I's Birthday (K)
Folloch 28 St. Justinian's Day (the Walk) (Pavor)   Betasha 1 The Revelation (K, Vortumnus)
Giblean 6 St. Pomerius' Fair (Minos)   Betasha 7 The Anunciation (K, Vortumnus)
Giblean 7 Disjunction (Cthos)   Betasha 15 Start of Fair Week (Minos)
Giblean 21 Start of the Zetian Games (Phemos)   Betasha 18 Prelude to the Waters begins (Betshaba)
Giblean 28 End of the Zetian Games
Laurel Day (Phemos)
  Betasha 19 End of Marageddon (Abaris)


Summer Holidays

Betasha 20 Summer Solstice
Beginning of Garnheggan (the Brightening)
First day of Abarine calendar (Abaris)
Rise of the Waters
Prelude ends (Betshaba)
Ophion's Day (Ophion)
  Sheldsmet 12 Unification Day (K)
Betasha 28 St. Basilieos the Wanderer's Day (Cebren)
End of Fair Week (Minos)
    Arrival of the Triad begins (the Triad)
Mudens 14 Jubilee (Furinus)   Sheldsmet 14 Arrival of the Triad ends (the Triad)
Mudens 28 St. Kargas' Day (Kratos)   Sheldsmet 21 Dedication of the Triad (the Triad)
Lunasa 7 St. Anne's Day (Selene)   Sheldsmet 26 Last day of Garnheggan (Abaris)
The Strands (Paelemona)
Sheldsmet 7 Day of the Matron (Thalia)      


Autumn Holidays

Sheldsmet 27 Autumnal Equinox
beginning of Ralishar (the Coloring) (Abaris)
Godric's Day (Baelthor)
  Damhar 21 The Harvesting (Podalirius)
Sheldsmet 28 St. Michael's Day (Michaelmas) (Erato)   Damhar 27 Fall Fair Day (Minos)
Damhar 7 All Troth's Day (Fides)   Sultain 5 Foundation Day
Damhar 10 St. Garimund's Day (K, Vortumnus)   Nollaig 5 Last day of Hieronymide calendar
Last day of Ralishar (Abaris)
The Reckoning (Aridnus)
Damhar 14 Taskday (Ladon)      


Winter Holidays

Nollaig 6 Winter Solstice
First day of Hieronymide calendar
Start of Noxheggan (the Darkening) (Abaris)
Clemency (Clementia)
  Eanaire 22 The Ascension of St. Garimund (K., Vortumnus)
Nollaig 7 Remembrance (Cthos)   Gerran 28 Last day of Davidian Calendar
Eanaire 7 Sanctuary (Pavor)   Folloch 1 First day of Davidian Calendar
Eanaire 14 Accounting (Minos)   Folloch 14 End of Noxheggan (Abaris)
St. Saraphina's Day (Drames)